QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Delays and exits in the transmission queue since 2021How often connection dates move, and how many projects leave the queue. Gate 2 in the transmission queueHow much of the queue has a Gate 2 offer, and what it did to connection dates. The battery queue and CMP470’s commitment feeHow far the battery queue sits above the line that would switch CMP470’s commitment fee off. Changes of customer in the transmission queueHow often connection agreements move between companies, and how those projects fared. Do projects connect on time?How late stages have connected against their connection date in the register. Which connection dates slip least?Which connection dates are pushed back least, allowing for how far ahead they are. Grid outages and the connections due by 2030How many of their planned outages the transmission owners carry out, against the connections due by 2030.

More analyses are on the way.

Transmission / Projects / North Scotland
Connection date
31 Oct 2029
Gate
Not stated
Status
Scoping
Planning consent
Granted 26 Nov 2024
Scottish Government (S36), reference ECU00004631 · Source: REPD
Technology
Storage + Solar
Total capacity
900 MW
Connected now
0 MW
Still to connect
900 MW
Transmission owner
SSEN Transmission (SHET)
Agreement type
Direct Connection
Region
North Scotland
Project number
PRO-001978
In the register since
November 2022

What would CMP470’s commitment fee do to a battery like this? See the use case: Will CMP470’s commitment fee clear the battery queue?

Stages

StageConnected MWAdds MWCumulative MWDateGateStatus
1045045031 Oct 2029Not statedScoping
2045090031 Oct 2033Not statedScoping

Change history

Every change to this project across 151 registers from 29 Jan 2021 to 5 Nov 2026.

  • 26 Nov 2024 register
    Connection point changed from Alyth 400kV Substation to Alyth Solar and Battery 400/132kV
  • 26 Nov 2024 register
    Stage 1: Technology changed from Storage to Storage, Solar
  • 26 Nov 2024 register
    Stage 2: Technology changed from Storage to Storage, Solar
  • 29 Oct 2024 register
    Connection point changed from Alyth Solar and Battery 400/132kV to Alyth 400kV Substation
  • 29 Oct 2024 register
    Stage 1: Technology changed from Storage, Solar to Storage
  • 29 Oct 2024 register
    Stage 2: Technology changed from Storage, Solar to Storage
  • 29 Sep 2023 register
    New stage added (450 MW from 31 Oct 2033)
  • 29 Nov 2022 register
    Added to the register

Also at Alyth Solar and Battery 400/132kV

Substation view

No other projects in the register at this connection point.

Status definitions (NESO)

Scoping: NESO is not aware that a planning application has been made.

Awaiting Consents: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that a planning application has been made.

Consents Approved: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that the planning application has been approved.

Terminated: used by NESO only in its register of 30 April 2021, for two projects that left the register the next month.

These statuses are NESO’s, not QueueWatch’s, and NESO describes them as “as far as we are aware”, so a project may be further along than its status shows.

Source: NESO

Planning consent

The planning decision or stage for this project, from DESNZ’s Renewable Energy Planning Database (REPD), July 2026 edition, with the planning authority and its reference. QueueWatch matched the project to that record. NESO’s status can lag behind planning decisions, so the two may differ.

How QueueWatch matches projects · Spotted a wrong match? Email info@queuequant.com.