Sizing John (Rainhill)
- Connection date
- 25 Sep 2026
- Gate
- Not stated
- Status
- Consents Approved
- Technology
- Storage
- Total capacity
- 143 MW
- Connected now
- 57 MW
- Still to connect
- 85.5 MW
- Transmission owner
- National Grid Electricity Transmission (NGET)
- Agreement type
- Direct Connection
- Region
- England and Wales
- Project number
- PRO-001581
- In the register since
- August 2021
What would CMP470’s commitment fee do to a battery like this? See the use case: Will CMP470’s commitment fee clear the battery queue?
Stages
| Stage | Connected MW | Adds MW | Cumulative MW | Date | Gate | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 57 | 0 | 57 | None | Not stated | Built |
| 2 | 0 | 85.5 | 142.5 | 25 Sep 2026 | Not stated | Consents Approved |
Change history
Every change to this project across 151 registers from 29 Jan 2021 to 5 Nov 2026.
- 29 Jul 2025 registerStage 1: 57 MW now connected
- 29 Jul 2025 registerStage 1: Status changed from Consents Approved to Built
- 24 Dec 2024 registerStage 1: Connection date moved from 30 Oct 2024 to 31 Oct 2024 (1 day later)
- 29 Dec 2023 registerRestructured from 1 stage (143 MW from 30 Oct 2024) to 2 stages (57 MW from 30 Oct 2024, 85.5 MW from 25 Sep 2026)
- 23 Dec 2022 registerSubstation name updated in the register (from Rainhill to Rainhill GSP)
- 31 May 2022 registerCapacity changed from 57 MW to 143 MW
- 31 Aug 2021 registerAdded to the register
Also at Rainhill GSP
Substation viewNo other projects in the register at this connection point.