Loch na Cathrach Pumped Storage Hydro
- Connection date
- 30 Apr 2029
- Gate
- Not stated
- Status
- Consents Approved
- Technology
- Pumped storage
- Total capacity
- 550 MW
- Connected now
- 0 MW
- Still to connect
- 550 MW
- Transmission owner
- SSEN Transmission (SHET)
- Agreement type
- Direct Connection
- Region
- North Scotland
- Project number
- PRO-000570
- In the register since
- January 2021 or earlier
Stages
| Stage | Connected MW | Adds MW | Cumulative MW | Date | Gate | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 0 | 450 | 450 | 30 Apr 2029 | Not stated | Consents Approved |
| 2 | 0 | 100 | 550 | 31 Oct 2030 | Not stated | Consents Approved |
Change history
Every change to this project across 151 registers from 29 Jan 2021 to 5 Nov 2026.
- 19 Dec 2025 registerConnection point changed from Red John 275kV Switching Station to Knocknagael 275kV
- 30 May 2025 registerStage 1: Connection date moved from 31 Jul 2028 to 30 Apr 2029 (+9 months)
- 30 May 2025 registerStage 2: Connection date moved from 31 Oct 2032 to 31 Oct 2030 (−24 months)
- 28 Mar 2025 registerRenamed from Red John PSH
- 28 Mar 2025 registerStage 1: Status changed from Scoping to Consents Approved
- 28 Mar 2025 registerStage 2: Status changed from Scoping to Consents Approved
- 29 Oct 2024 registerNew stage added (100 MW from 31 Oct 2032)
- 28 Jun 2024 registerCustomer changed from ILI (HIGHLANDS PSH) LIMITED to STATKRAFT HIGHLANDS PSH LIMITED
- 29 Sep 2023 registerConnection date moved from 31 Jul 2027 to 31 Jul 2028 (+12 months)
Also at Knocknagael 275kV
Substation viewNo other projects in the register at this connection point.