QueueWatchby QueueQuant Price my project Get the plan that holds up best for your site, and where that answer flips.
Transmission / Projects / England and Wales
Connection date
Left 30 Jul 2024
Gate
Not stated
Status
Under Construction/Commissioning
Technology
Nuclear
Total capacity
3,340 MW
Connected now
0 MW
Still to connect
3,340 MW
Transmission owner
National Grid Electricity Transmission (NGET)
Agreement type
Direct Connection
Region
England and Wales
Project number
PRO-000142
In the register since
January 2021 or earlier

Stages

StageConnected MWAdds MWCumulative MWDateGateStatus
101,6701,6709 Feb 2026Not statedUnder Construction/Commissioning
201,6703,34014 Mar 2027Not statedUnder Construction/Commissioning

Change history

Every change to this project across 146 registers from 29 Jan 2021 to 20 Oct 2026.

  • 30 Jul 2024 register
    Left the register (1,670 MW from 9 Feb 2026, 1,670 MW from 14 Mar 2027)
  • 23 Dec 2022 register
    Substation name updated in the register (from Hinkley Point 400kV to Hinkley Point 400kV Substation)
  • 28 Jan 2022 register
    Stage 1: Connection date moved from 6 Dec 2024 to 9 Feb 2026 (+14 months)
  • 28 Jan 2022 register
    Stage 1: Status changed from Consents Approved to Under Construction/Commissioning
  • 28 Jan 2022 register
    Stage 2: Connection date moved from 6 Dec 2025 to 14 Mar 2027 (+15 months)
  • 28 Jan 2022 register
    Stage 2: Status changed from Consents Approved to Under Construction/Commissioning
  • 26 Feb 2021 register
    Stage 1: Connection date moved from 12 Jun 2024 to 6 Dec 2024 (+6 months)
  • 26 Feb 2021 register
    Stage 2: Connection date moved from 12 Jun 2025 to 6 Dec 2025 (+6 months)

Also at Hinkley Point 400kV Substation

Substation view

No other projects in the register at this connection point.

Status definitions (NESO)

Scoping: NESO is not aware that a planning application has been made.

Awaiting Consents: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that a planning application has been made.

Consents Approved: NESO is aware, or the customer has told it, that the planning application has been approved.

Terminated: used by NESO only in its register of 30 April 2021, for two projects that left the register the next month.

These statuses are NESO’s, not QueueWatch’s, and NESO describes them as “as far as we are aware”, so a project may be further along than its status shows.

Source: NESO